A (belated) Happy New Year

Happy New Year!
At last, the very first Fabulous Vintage newsletter. 2012 was such a busy year getting the business off the ground I just didn’t find the time.

Fabulous Vintage Flash Sale – 35% discount
The Fabulous Vintage flash sale is now on! Visit our online shop and enter the code below to receive a whopping 35% discount until midnight Sunday 27 January.  Please note, discount is calculated at check out.
FLASHCASH01. 
Discount is for in-stock / website items only and does not apply to shipping charges and custom made / made to order items.  I would be really grateful if you would share this news and help spread the word about the sale. Thank you.

Fabulous Vintage Update
What have I been up to? Buying more glorious vintage fabric and editing the website in the hope that those friendly folk at Google put me at the top of the search pile. I’ve also been increasing my profile on Facebook and Pinterest and promoting the business with free fabric give-away days. I’ve got quite a following on Facebook now and it’s growing all the time. I’ve also had my first big article in our local lifestyle magazine, Northside, which you can read here.

Managing a website online shop, blog and keeping up with the social network is a lot of work but I really enjoy it. When my two boys (Oscar – 4 and Felix -2) are in bed, I find time to get on the internet to source more vintage fabric to add to the stash. I’ve completed four large wall art installations and I’m working on another for the very busy Cafe EightyAte on West Street, North Sydney, where we live. Late last year I sold half of our belongings on eBay to raise funds for a much needed photo-shoot. Claire at Frangipani Designs did a great job and the images can been seen on the website gallery. I have around 40 new items to add to the website after the flash sale, so I’ll be busy working on that for the rest of January. It’s been hectic and luckily I love what I do.

New Things
Lighting: I’m currently collecting some beautiful vintage retro lamp bases to pair with lampshades made from my vintage fabrics. The range will include a few Bitossi ceramic lamps and wooden lamps. Once the range is complete we’ll have another photoshoot. This time I might have to organise a garage sale raise the cash.

Belts: I’ve got a huge basket under my sewing table full of amazing Jacquard ribbons and hand carved Italian wooden buckles. The plan is to make a range of divine vintage inspired ‘cinch belts’ in time for next Christmas. At this rate it might be November 2014 before they are ready as I still need to wipe off the dust and resurrect the sewing machine which has been in hiding for the last 4 years.

Wall Art: In addition to fabric wall art I’d love to get Stone Inspired to make some handmade marble wall art using some of my vintage retro prints.

So ends the first newsletter. I’m hoping to send four a year so don’t worry, I won’t be bombarding you with emails!

Thanks for reading, until next time

Bridget
Fabulous Vintage

Leave a Reply

